Welcome From Heads of School

I am delighted to welcome you to our website.   I am sure it will provide you with a flavor of what makes our campus so special, but you will only appreciate that flavor fully by visiting us in person.


Whittle School & Studios is a new and very special type of school.   It benefits from many assets: the quality and experience of its leadership, people drawn from some of the best schools in the countries from which they come; from the ability, idealism and commitment of its faculty and its support staff; from the brilliant design of its buildings; from the technology and resources available to it.


Most schools will say these sorts of things about themselves and claim that they make them distinctive.   Whittle School & Studios in Shenzhen recognizes that a great school must be more than the sum of its parts.   What is it that makes us so distinctive?

 

Our distinctiveness can be summarized in one word, our culture.   Cultures are difficult to define, but we have a straightforward understanding of what the word means for us.   It is, simply, the ways in which we do things here.   Our website explains all that, but there are three overriding cultural characteristics I will mention here.

 

First and foremost, we put our students at the centre of our community.   Everything we do is focused on their best interests.   Academic work is obviously of vital importance, but the vast majority of us achieve most when we feel that we are known properly, supported strongly, and guided appropriately.   Thus, at the center of our ethos is our emphasis on pastoral care, effected by our advisory system.


Secondly, we aim to prepare our students for the world of the future in which they will live and work.   Of course, no-one can know what that will be like.   However, we can say with confidence that it will be fast-changing, prone to disruption, and highly competitive.   To succeed in such a world, it is essential that people develop the personal qualities that make them self-aware, flexible, adaptable, resilient, strong communicators, and, not least, capable of leading and collaborating as part of a team.   They will need to be creative, a capacity which is based on knowledge and a consequent desire to explore, to think critically, and try things out    Our fundamental belief is that they should also be good people. Our whole program is aimed at developing these qualities.


Finally, school should be happy places.   We all have to learn throughout our lives.   We’ll do that much more effectively if we enjoy learning as well as everything else that school life has to offer.

 

Great schools “feel” right.   You can only experience a feeling, so come and visit us and see, and feel, for yourself.   You will be most welcome.


Rhiannon Wilkinson MA (Oxon), MEd (Manchester)

Headmistress

 


返回顶部

来自校长的信

欢迎来到荟同深圳校区官方网站。通过浏览网站内容,您一定会感受到这所学校的独特之处,但是与此同时,我们希望您能来到校区和我们见面,因为只有这样才能充分领略荟同的魅力。


荟同学校是一所独特的新学校。她由许多优秀的元素组成:来自世界各地顶尖名校的德才兼备、经验丰富的领导团队,有能力、有情怀、有责任感的教师和员工,精心设计的校园建筑,以及领先的教育技术和丰厚的教育资源。

 

这些品质似乎与其他学校所标榜的别无二致,但荟同学校深圳校区做到的远不止这些。是什么让我们如此与众不同?

 

我们的独特性可以用一个词来概括——“我们的文化”。“文化”很难定义,但我们对这个词有更直观的理解。 简单地说,“文化”就是我们做事的方式。 您能从我们的网站中看到这种“文化”的痕迹,但我在此想要提纲挈领地强调“荟同文化”的三个核心特征。

 

首先,我们以学生为中心,一切教学都是围绕学生的兴趣展开的。学术能力显然是至关重要的,但在大多数情况下,当一所学校深入了解学生,给他们提供强有力的支持和适当的引导的学习。 因此,荟同的精神内核正是我们不断强调并通过导师制践行的师生关怀。

 

其次,我们旨在帮助学生为将来的生活和工作做好准备。当然,没有人知道未来的世界什么样。然而,我们敢肯定地说,那将是一个变幻莫测,竞争激烈的社会。要在这样的环境中取得成功,学生们必须培养自觉性、灵活性、适应能力、抗压能力和沟通能力,尤其是在团队中的领导力和合作能力。此外还要具有创造力,能够活学活用,勇于探索,拥有批判性思维。我们的根本信念是让学生成为善良的人。荟同教育就是为了培养这些品质。

 

最后,学校应该是一个快乐的地方。人在一辈子当中要持续不断地学习,只有当我们在学校里感受到学习和其他活动一样充满乐趣时,我们才能成为更好的终身学习者。

 

一所真正的好学校会使人如沐春风,这种感受只有身临其境才能体会得到。因此,我们真诚地邀请您到学校来与我们见面,亲身感受学校的氛围,荟同的大门向您敞开。


返回顶部